Vegans are rigorous vegetarians who refrain from consuming animal products as well as meat byproducts. Furthermore, they should be wary of using animal byproducts in multivitamins. Gelatin, a common ingredient in multivitamins, is a usual stabilizer made from the cooked bones and organs of animals such as cows. Also, vitamin D3 is often a derivative of the lanolin in the cut-off wool of sheep. But it’s not too hard to find good vegan multivitamins, and here are some suggestions:
VeganLife Multivitamins are prepared with totally vegan-derived ingredients, packed with more than one hundred percent of over 21 essential vitamins and minerals, with some additional vitamin B12. The tablets have a shellac-free coating, they are taken three times per day and can be obtained with or without iron. This multivitamin is lacking in a variety of the usual allergen ingredients such as corn, wheat, soy, yeast, tree nuts, legumes, and peanuts. They are also sugar and salt-free and contain no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives.
Prenatal One Multivitamin by Rainbow Light
Prenatal One Multivitamin by Rainbow Light are free of any animal products. This tablet is taken once a day and contains all the minerals and vitamins found in regular multivitamins, but it has a special formula for expecting mothers and women who are breastfeeding. There is additional iron and folic acid, which is particularly relevant for the developing of a baby. Fresh ginger juice has been added to help with possible nausea, as well as 25 million bioactive probiotics which provide help with the customary pregnancy constipation.
DEVA Vegan Multivitamin & Mineral–One Daily
These tablets consist of a once-a-day, powerful formula with an easy-to-swallow vegetable-based coating. This is not only a wide-ranging vitamin and mineral supplement, it also consists of herbs to endorse improved vegan health, and includes parsley and chamomile. There is no milk, yeast, wheat, sugar or salt, starch, preservatives and animal products, byproducts or derivatives, nor any gluten.
Vegan One Multiple by VegLife
This tablet can be bought with or without additional iron. These tablets, also taken once per day, make available essential nutrients without any animal products or byproducts.
Vitamin B12 for vegans
Vitamin B12, which serves to protect the nervous system, is a complex vitamin with a distinctive mechanism for absorption and is usually found in all animal foodstuffs (except for honey). A study depicted major vitamin B12 shortage in vegans with some even experiencing nerve damage, blindness or deafness, and even dementia. Thus, vitamin B12 fortified foods and supplements are needed for the health of vegans, or even vegetarians. Fortunately, vitamin B12 is made by bacterial fermenting and does not need to be gotten from animal products.
Notwithstanding this, some vegan supporters continue to claim that plants supply all the nutrients necessary for good health, and do not focus on this vitamin while endorsing the vegan regimen. Others, however, point out that human beings need minuscule amounts of B12 and that it can be deposited within the body for years.
However, to build up such deposits takes years of ingesting B12 beyond a person’s daily needs. If someone has been a meat eater for most of their life, their body should have stored or deposited enough B12 to counteract deficiency for some years. However, B12 deposits cannot be trusted to preserve homocysteine levels in check for long.
There are some anxieties, however, about vegans depending exclusively on multivitamins which contain minuscule amounts of vitamin B12 (lower than 25 µg). Some researchers have reported that vitamins B1, as well as B3 and C, and vitamin E, along with copper and iron may impair the effect of B12. Also, Vitamin C may destroy the vitamin, and many multivitamin tablets are difficult to chew, which is vital for the absorption of B12.